You're reading...
All

Chasing Dreams | Paul Knoop

Just a few nights ago I was browsing through a book in my local bookstore.
My eye caught a sentence in it that said: If you’d ask your 5 year old self if he would be proud of what you’ve become today, what would he say?
That sentence has stuck with me ever since.
To be honest, at this point in my life, I don’t think he would be proud.
I have a job that pays my bills and could be considered quite important as well.
On top of that I have a manager who is probably the nicest guy I’ve ever met in a working environment, so I can’t really complain about that as well.
So, considering the stuff I already have (company car, responsibility, nice manager, total freedom in my job) most people would say that I’m doing a great job.
But my passion lies in different fields than the ones I’m currently working in.

If it were up to me, I’d be trying to be a writer, finishing up a university course on it as well.
Perhaps it would mean that I would have to live as a bum, spend my hard earned money on food instead of books and luxury, and lose my girlfriend (an impossible achievement, let me tell you) or quite possibly even lifelong friends down the line.
You tend to surround yourself with people who fit in with the person you are today.
Not all of them will be happy to see you change into someone they don’t yet know.
And that’s not even considering the fact that you’ll serve as their mirror to them neglecting their own dreams.
So it’s basically a matter of choice, Will you dive into the deep end and chase your dreams?

The funny thing is, after a certain point in life, people tend to accept the deal that life has dealt them.
Whether that’s a bad marriage, (unwanted) kids, a crappy job or other struggles, most of those events are being countered by people with that all too familiar sentence: ‘thats just the way things went’.
I personally don’t believe that you can be succesfull in life with that attitude.
But I also strongly feel that you need to put in your debts in order to achieve your greater goals.
In essence, I don’t think anyone, whether that’s your manager at work or your girl/boyfriend, would be mad at you for changing your life to suit your own personal dreams.

It’s exactly the sort of dilemma that I will be facing in my life as well.
And even though I know that it’s coming, I still feel that my job is important and I should make that work with all the energy that I can possibly give to it.
Because at the end of the day, there are bills to pay, and mouths to feed, and my choice to accept a job means  that doing that job properly is very important.
Besides,when do you decide to give it all up in order to chase something that isn’t even achievable when you look at it from a realistic point of view?

So making your dreams come true seems like a far fetched idea for many.
It’s a matter of knowledge vs imagination for most of us.
Yet one of the most commonly known smart people, Albert Einstein, once said: ‘Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world”
Which brings me to my ‘message’ so to speak.
Ask yourself these questions:

– Is your 5 year old version of you proud of who you’ve become?
– What will you regret not doing in your life if you continue as you are now?
– Did you make peace with everything life has dealt you?

Don’t be afraid of the changes your life will undergo after answering these, its inevitable and ultimately for the best.
Just don’t forget to be authentic to the people you meet throughout, and make your dreams come true as well!
Personally, I know I’ll be a writer someday, and I know there’s quite a distinct possibility that my manager whom I’ve spoken about in this piece, will read my article and not appreciate everything I’ve said in here.
Is that a smart thing to do? Some might argue that it’s not.

But sometimes you just have to be honest, no matter what could come of it,and this is one of those times.
At least I would know that this text was read with care by at least 1 person.
And isn’t that what every writer wants…to be read by people?
I think my 5 year old me would be proud of me right now.

– Paul.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Chasing Dreams | Paul Knoop

  1. I may have to really process what I just read. That was very astute, brave, real and honest. A stunningly soul searching essay, my friend. Amazing job. I’m off to read it again.

    Posted by Victor De Leon | July 3, 2012, 02:12
  2. I don’t always leave a comment, mostly you hear from me through the phone. But this piece.., it’s real, open and beautiful! It makes me sad reading it, that you have to go through so much crap before you can reach your destination. And you deserve it so much! Im so proud of you and love you for trying to do what you want! I will always stand beside you, feeling so proud for what you do, sharing it with me and that i’m the one who can say i’m his girlfriend!

    Posted by Melissa | July 3, 2012, 09:38
    • Hi girl,

      You shouldn’t be sad when reading this.
      I have a good life, with a nice job and some decent outlooks on life.
      Chasing your dreams is just something that everybody should take note of every now and again.
      It doesn’t mean that there’s a lot of crap I need to go through, not crap that I didn’t choose for myself.
      So hopefully you’ll feel happy about the fact that, at the very least, I acknowledge the fact that there are dreams to chase.

      Regarding everything else you just said, I already knew that, which is why I’m not even sad to begin with 🙂

      Posted by That Dutch Filmlover | July 3, 2012, 11:18

Leave a comment!

