You're reading...
All

My Top 5 of Gifted (and hot) Actresses!

Let’s face it: every single one of us has a favorite actor or actress.

Sometimes it’s because of their style, charisma or talent or it’s originated from that one special role they once had.
Whatever the reason may be: you know what I’m talking about.

People like Brad Pitt or Angelina Jolie have garnered a huge following of fans, and by now their presence offscreen has surpassed their reason of becoming famous in the first place, which is making movies.
It’s exactly because of this reason that I would like to present my top 5 of actresses whom I consider to be as talented as they are hot, and hopefully create a discussion amongst you about your favorite actor or actress.
So let’s kick things off in no specific order (even though it’s called a top 5) with the first actress!

1. Jennifer Connelly
There might be a reason she’s the first one to name as this actress has been the most profound in my admiration for any actress.
Jennifer was first introduced to me in the cult classic ‘Labyrinth’ which I saw when I was 6 on a BBC showing back in 1992.
Ever since that movie I’ve had a soft spot for her which continued to stay there neglected for years on end.
It wasn’t until I saw ‘House of Sand and Fog’ that I fell in love with her all over again.
Jennifer has gotten a lot of critique over her acting, specifically her cold way of acting, which I have to agree, in some parts just doesn’t come across the way it should.
Never the less, she’s starred in movies such as ‘Pollock’, ‘A Beautiful Mind’ and ‘Requiem for a dream’.

If you want to see her in a role where she shows how broad of a range she has, try watching the sometimes overlooked ‘Little Children’.
So now that we’re off to a good start: on with number two on the list!

2.Rachel McAdams
Rachel bursted onto the scene with her role in ‘Mean Girls’ and followed that one up with the already classic role of Allie in ‘The Notebook’.
After those two memorable roles she went on to star in movies such as ‘Sherlock Holmes’, ‘State of Play’ and more recently her gorgeous turn in ‘Passion’.
Many people neglect her for starring in lots of movies where she plays one dimensional characters.
But that would be a sad mistake to make since she has shown that she is able to portray lots of different characters with ease.
And even though a lot of men (and even women) breathe out a deep sigh when ‘The Notebook’ is mentioned, her role in there serves as a glowing example of an actress becoming better at her craft.
I think she’ll move on to bigger and more varied roles in the years to come and I look forward to seeing them unfold on the screen!

3. Penélope Cruz
This list wouldn’t be complete without mentioning the woman who inspired me into getting not one but two tattoos. Her role in ‘Abre Los Ojos’ mesmerized me, and still does to this day. Even when she reprised it in ‘Vanilla Sky’ it still got to me. Her looks and her intellect and her unbelievable capacity as an actress has made me a true fan.
Starring in movies such as ‘Volver’, ‘Nine’, ‘Los Abrazos Rotos’ and ‘Venuto al Mondo’ she has shown even the most hardened of criticasters that she is a true force in modern day acting.
The most significant role in her body of work is still ‘Vicky Christina Barcelona’, this return to form for Woody Allen had her starring in a role which I can only describe as a woman of my dreams.
Just like Javier Bardem I could never for the life of me hold on to her without going insane, but her intensity and her presence matched that of the charismatic Bardem (who then pursued her in real life and married her as well, the bastard).
If you think you’ve seen it all, try her out in ‘Vicky Christina Barcelona’ and see if you can neglect her role.

4.Audrey Tautou
There are people who’s face is forever linked to a character they portrayed. And Audrey Tautou is the shining example.
Her iconic and widely loved role as the dreamy Amélie in the 2001 movie ‘Le Fabuleux Destin D’Amélie Poulain’ forever engraved her in peoples minds.
And she is by far my most snobbish choice of the bunch.
Audrey prefers roles in her own country, meaning that you have to be a real fan and a bit of a snob to search out all the french movies in your local store. Seen the fact that I live in Holland I reckon it’s a bit easier then doing it in the USA, but she’s definitely great in other parts as well.
Whether it’s her role as the famous Coco Chanel or as Mathilde in ‘Un Longe Dimanche de Fiançailles’ she has shown that she’s more then the role that made her famous.
Consider this your wild card, and try to scoop up some of her lesser known movies, you won’t be dissapointed.

5.Jennifer Aniston
If were talking controversial choices, this is sure to raise some eyebrows.
My love for Jennifer Aniston started when she graced the tv-screens around the world as Rachel in the hit sit-com ‘Friends’. Which is also where a lot of people started their hate for her.
When I told my girlfriend I was doing this list, she immediately blurted out: I already know who’s going to be on there, and I was honestly not even planning on putting Jen on here Melissa!
But then I started reminding her role in ‘The Good Girl’ where she plays a down on her luck supermarket attendant. And her brilliant role in ‘Horrible Bosses’ as the sex crazed dentist.
Ofcourse, you could write her off for her gazillion roles as a ditsy love interest in a comedy.
But you name me three actresses with her body of work who have such a great sense of comedic timing and likability. Yes, some will always write her off for what she is, but to me she’ll always be more then just another comedy actress.
If you feel differently, you haven’t seen ‘The Good Girl’ yet.

Before signing off I just need to make one little apology: Sorry for not mentioning you Charlize, really..I truly am.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “My Top 5 of Gifted (and hot) Actresses!

  1. Oh Charlize…um sorry, where was I? I was fantasizing. Connelly number one? Hmm not a bad choice.

    Posted by Victor De Leon | October 14, 2012, 01:35
  2. Its not really in any order, just love them. Took forever to get this article together though. Happy its done! 🙂
    What are some of yours Vic?

    Posted by That Dutch Filmlover | October 14, 2012, 01:44
  3. Another, less obvious, reason why a like this blog my friend. You see a lot of “My top … of most favorite actors/actresses” out there. But 98% of those lists are just because the think the’re hot. And in the other 2%… well… whe have Paul! At least you tell us why you chosed them and give some example for people to think about it.

    Keep it up Paul.

    On topic: Nice list dude. I always had a weak spot for Penélope. Maybe it’s because I’m a Spaniard…

    Posted by David Flores | October 14, 2012, 08:54
    • Thanks for the kind words David. I appreciate you reading through it Penélope..dont even start..Ive got spanish written on my arms (tattoos) and I love everything she has done. Spanish cinema is sadly overlooked by many, and even though she’s from madrid and not Catalunya..I still love her 🙂

      Posted by That Dutch Filmlover | October 14, 2012, 13:35

Leave a comment!

