You're reading...
All

Nostalgiathon – Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Ooze (1991)

The Turtles and the Shredder battle once again, this time for the last cannister of the ooze that created the Turtles, which Shredder wants to create an army of new mutants.

First of all, most of you will be wondering: what the hell does Nostalgiathon mean??
It’s an initiative set up by Andy from www.andywatchesmovies.com and is very simple: take something out of your childhood, explain how you felt about it back then and how you feel about the subject right now as an adult.
(details can be found here )

So what better movie to pick from my childhood then the worn-down VHS tape of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II? Back when I was a kid I distinctly remember my dad walking in with the video-tape of the Turtles. Back then I saw the animated show and played the videogames, but never did it cross my mind that there was a movie (nor did I realise that this was the sequel to it) and to this day I can remember the movie scene by scene.
I LOVED IT. The humor of the turtles, the menace from Shredder and his mutated beasts and the sense of impending doom that was littered throughout.

I think I’ve seen it well over 20 times, as kids do, and it wasn’t until a firm year or two later that I realised there were 2 more to be seen, both of which I felt  never fully lived up to my ‘original’ TMNT movie (especially not the third one set in Medival times).

So now it’s time to look back at it, and that’s a doublesided affair to say the least.
What’s instantly noticeable is it’s lack of polish, the acting is sub-par and the suits used for the creation of the turtles is not a lot better then what you’d get at a Halloween store, but it still (aside from the sentiment) kept a certain charm. It’s a very 90’s like movie, the clothing and the plot devices used as well as the music, but it’s also innocent, much more so then the movies found in cinemas today.

The story moves along at a quick pace and there’s lots of humor in it, especially from Michelangelo’s side.
When reviewing movies of the past, it’s always tricky since it can single handedly destroy the love you had for it since you were a kid.
But that isn’t the case with the turtles, I loved this movie then and despite all the shortcomings I see in it now, I still love it.

8/10 stars!

For those curious to see the movie, see it here in it’s entirety!

 

Discussion

16 thoughts on “Nostalgiathon – Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Ooze (1991)

  1. My boys LOVE this movie. They dig all the TMNT movies but I think this is the one DVD that they’ve watched to the point of it being worn away…great pick, bro!

    Posted by Victor De Leon | November 10, 2012, 03:37
    • Same here..Im a 90’s kid and this was THE movie to see back then! Being 26 now it feels like ages ago, but it still makes me emotional thinking about the time when you had nothing to worry about..just sitting at your grandma’s house with the video playing and a bowl of chips..sweet memories. Thanks for the comment and your time reading it Vic! 🙂

      Posted by That Dutch Filmlover | November 10, 2012, 03:39
  2. Hey, thanks for participating in Nostalgiathon! I LOVE TMNT. I haven’t watched in forever though. I even had the VHS of the live concert – did you ever catch that? I remember it being epic so it was probably not so much… 😉

    Posted by mistylayne | November 10, 2012, 04:00
  3. I loved this one too – I even had the Ninja Rap single cassette tape
    Thanks so much for participating!

    Posted by AndyWatchesMovies | November 10, 2012, 18:09
  4. I love your description of the “worn-down VHS tape”. I can just picture it!

    Posted by silverscreenings | November 12, 2012, 17:40
  5. I watched all three of these earlier this year, and personally I thought that the first one held up the best. The second one was the most cheesy fun, and the third one was just plain bad.

    Posted by Bubbawheat | November 13, 2012, 04:05

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Nostalgiathon Blogathon – Introduction | Andy Watches Movies - November 10, 2012

  2. Pingback: Nostalgiathon – Update 1 | Andy Watches Movies - November 10, 2012

  3. Pingback: Nostalgiathon – Update 2 | Andy Watches Movies - December 12, 2012

Leave a comment!

